Mark Zuckerberg himself announces the news coming to WhatsApp . At the center is the strengthening of privacy.
Three main new features: quitting group chats without notifying all participants, deciding who can see when you are online, and preventing one-time message screenshots .
"We will continue to create new ways to protect your messages - said Zuckerberg - and keep them private and safe as in face-to-face conversations."
The first change is therefore the possibility of quietly leaving groups: "We like group chats - explain from Meta - but in some cases we would not want to be part of them forever. Now it will be possible to leave a group privately , without this It is made known to everyone. Instead of notifying the entire group when one person is leaving, we will limit the notification to administrators only. This feature is available starting today. "
Then you can choose who can see when you are online : "Seeing when friends or family are online helps us to stay in touch - reads the Meta note - but we have all had times when we wanted to check WhatsApp without letting anyone know we were connected. For times when you want to keep your online presence private, we're introducing the ability to select who can or can't see when you're online. This feature will be available to all users starting this month. "
Finally , the blocking of screenshots for messages that can only be viewed once : "Messages that can only be viewed once - they explain - are already an extremely popular way to share photos or multimedia content that should not be kept. We are enabling the blocking of screenshots for messages which can be viewed only once in order to guarantee an additional level of protection. This functionality - Meta concludes - is being tested and we hope to make it available soon ".
(Unioneonline / D)